Disable: 'Network security: Force logoff when logon hours expire'
|ID: oval:org.secpod.oval:def:36538||Date: (C)2016-08-05 (M)2018-03-24|
|Class: COMPLIANCE||Family: windows|
This policy setting, which determines whether to disconnect users who are connected to the local computer outside their user account's valid logon hours, affects the SMB component. If you enable this policy setting, client sessions with the SMB server will be disconnected when the client's logon hours expire. If you disable this policy setting, established client sessions will be maintained after the client's logon hours expire.
If you disable this policy setting, a user could remain connected to the computer outside of their allotted logon hours.
This security setting behaves as an account policy. For domain accounts, there can be only one account policy. The account policy must be defined in the Default Domain Policy, and it is enforced by the domain controllers that make up the domain. A domain controller always pulls the account policy from the Default Domain Policy Group Policy object (GPO), even if there is a different account policy applied to the organizational unit that contains the domain controller. By default, workstations and servers that are joined to a domain (for example, member computers) also receive the same account policy for their local accounts. However, local account policies for member computers can be different from the domain account policy by defining an account policy for the organizational unit that contains the member computers. Kerberos settings are not applied to member computers.
When a user's logon time expires, SMB sessions will terminate. The user will be unable to log on to the computer until their next scheduled access time commences.
(1) GPO: Computer Configuration\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options\Network security: Force logoff when logon hours expire
(2) REG: ###
(3) WMI: ###
|Microsoft Windows 10|